Shadows on white walls are missing on interior renders.

• Hi everyone.

I have an issue that I can´t solve, hope someone could help me. I usually use Enscape for interior renders and the problem is that I don´t see the difference in the illumination between white walls and ceiling for example. Everything looks the same and I think that reality is not like that. It seems to me that some shadows are missing.

I´ve attached an example image to clarify this. This model was made with SketchUp. The interior only has 2 sources of natural light (windows) one is where the camera is and the other one the blue arrow. I also put some lights too. But If you can see in the image all the planes (a, b, c and d) look the same.

Maybe it´s because I'm new in Enscape but I´ve tried everything in Visual settings and I can't find why this is happening. Also I´ve tried to remove lights and only left natural light.

Can someone help me?

Thanks a lot.

• joshradle

Approved the thread.
  • This is probably because the natural sun is more powerful than the lights you have in the scene. If you try to play around with the artificial light brightness setting, sun brightness setting, and the lights power itself you might combined them to find solution to your issue. there also might be light bleed from having only one surface joined at the edges.

• Hi SMT and welcome to our forums!

You might want to try and reduce the ambient brightness (Atmosphere settings). Also please make sure you're not using 100% white as your wall color. Such bright colors don't exist in the real-world and therefore look off in physically based renderer as Enscape.

PBR color reference charts like this one might help adjusting your materials:
    https://community.acescentral.…a753aa5b36859cd11464.jpeg

• SMT Some answers already!

First off. lovely model!

So to echo some of the things said already