Removal of Enscape's restricted mode

  • Dear Forum Community,


    with this short announcement, we would like to briefly go into detail as to why we’ve removed the previously available restricted mode of Enscape.


    First off, the watermark window aligns with our newly redesigned UI and company brand.


    The purpose of Enscape’s restricted mode was to help users who experienced license problems, such as an invalid or expired license or issues with their license key (please see screenshot below for reference). The restricted mode was a temporary offer, intended to last until license issues were resolved.


    We have carefully tracked license issues over the last few versions and found next to zero cases which is why the restricted mode is no longer needed.


    Enscape is more than just a rendering tool. It includes seamless CAD integration, a collection of over 2,000 assets, and various options to share and collaborate, such as standalones, panoramas, and video exports.


    If Enscape is needed as a demo version, users can download the 14-day trial. This version is meant for non-commercial use only.


    Feel free to share any feedback with us in this thread with a post!

  • Hello,


    We still need the restricted mode, for many reasons :


    1. because even if the production of renderings needs to be done on a licensed seat, sometimes we need to launch restricted mode to do small modifications on the model without removing the license from another seat. For example when moving with a laptop and showing some modifications on the fly to the team/client without the need to produce renderings.


    2. when there's no internet


    3. when licensing issues appear


    There are so many situations restricted mode is useful otherwise we can be blocked.


    Please put it back.

  • Quote


    The purpose of Enscape’s restricted mode was to help users who experienced license problems, such as an invalid or expired license or issues with their license key (please see screenshot below for reference). The restricted mode was a temporary offer, intended to last until license issues were resolved.

    If users had a license, they simply just cannot us it. This statement is convoluted and practically BS.


    This change is only a cash grab from Enscape (probably taken a leaf out of Autodesk's playbook).


    Instead of continuing to provide a useful and fair product (that does cost a lot of money), they've seen an opportunity to remove the flexibility for users.

    This disruptive change has now made it extremely difficult for a practice to utilise the power of Enscape.


    Also this major change was withheld from the release notes.


    Can Enscape please add this back in

  • Very disappointing. We have rolled the whole office back to 2.9 and will be stranded there until restricted mode comes back.

    Typically we use it when staff forget to cancel out of enscape, lock their computers (along with the licenses) and go out to a meeting or home for the night.

  • I agree with previous posts. Jason.w is spot on.
    Very annoyed now, somebody accidentaly left their license on and the quick check we want to do is impossible.

    We will also try to roll back.

    Please reconsider this decision.

  • Until a material editor is added to enscape that allows the user to see the materials without running enscape the enscape window is the only way to fine tune said materials. Restricted mode needs to be added back in until then.

  • To upvote on comments above, restricted mode is one of the very useful features in enscape, it helps to read materiality, design in real time, especially in a high peek periods when everyone is busy. At that point we also reconsider getting back to version 2.9 and hopefully this feature will be back.

  • To upvote on comments above, restricted mode is one of the very useful features in enscape, it helps to read materiality, design in real time, especially in a high peek periods when everyone is busy. At that point we also reconsider getting back to version 2.9 and hopefully this feature will be back.

    I have forwarded your feedback as well, thank you very much.

  • We are also missing the restricted mode! It was a very useful feature...


    But if it doesn't come back and also for the moment:

    Is there any possibility to find out WHO is using the seats at the moment? (Username, workstation name or whatever) If you only get the message that all seats are used and you cannot find out by whom, this is very problematic.


    Best regards,

    Sebastian Schild

  • You can login to Enscape portal and on the license page check the stats button (not very user friendly but you get an idea of who is using a license)

    https://my.enscape3d.com/account#!/login
    That only counts for floating licenses

  • Thank you for the additional feedback. I'm afraid there really aren't any plans to bring back the restricted mode, but your feedback has been forwarded.


    And as mentioned above me already, for anyone using a floating license, you can always check out who's currently using it through your account, to structure and plan around that.