Revert automatic saving of visual settings

Reminder: If you encounter any issues with Enscape (including installation problems) or your subscription please reach out to our dedicated support team directly through the Help Center or by using the Feedback button as detailed here. Thank you for your understanding.
    • Official Post

    After 3.0, I couldn't find a way to save Visual Setting as file or in project. Could somebody help, please? It used to at the top left corner in Visual Setting window, but it doesn't seem to be there.

    I've found that I'm experiencing the same problem...

    I'm sorry to hear about the confusion this has caused, please check out how you can now access the settings menu in 3.0:

    https://enscape3d.com/communit…/settings-presets/#access

  • I'm sorry to hear about the confusion this has caused, please check out how you can now access the settings menu in 3.0:

    https://enscape3d.com/communit…/settings-presets/#access

    Demian Gutberlet,

    Before 3.0, I was able to adjust visual setting, then save whatever I have adjusted. With 3.0, I have to first click "Create Preset" then adjust settings? Otherwise, everything I adjusted just goes away when I click "create preset"?

  • I'm finding the way the presets are saved and created in 3.0 less functional than before. I really don't appreciate the current preset being overwritten while you adjust it. It's like writing a word document, and the changes automatically get saved into the file, then you have no way to go back and see the previous version. I want to have the changes committed only when I intentionally save it. I would also like the save to behave as before, where a new preset is made from the temporary settings. I do NOT want the default settings each time I make a new preset.

  • I'm finding the way the presets are saved and created in 3.0 less functional than before. I really don't appreciate the current preset being overwritten while you adjust it. It's like writing a word document, and the changes automatically get saved into the file, then you have no way to go back and see the previous version. I want to have the changes committed only when I intentionally save it. I would also like the save to behave as before, where a new preset is made from the temporary settings. I do NOT want the default settings each time I make a new preset.

    Enscape team,

    What was the reasoning for this change? Was there user upvote?


    If you deemed 'automatic saving' feature was very important, any change made from a saved custom preset should be automatically saved as a copy version so that the original custom preset stays intact. After that, users can have an option either to purge the original and remove 'copy' from the new preset name (with one click). Or, it could be used as a completely new custom preset.


    Now you have to make sure to click 'create custom preset' or first 'duplicate' preset before you are doing anything if you mean to test new options or make a completely new preset.

    Also, if you duplicate a preset to create a new custom preset based on the current one, you need to click the duplicated preset in the list first. Otherwise, you'd be making changes on the original preset instead of the new one.


    This is not a good implementation.

  • I always hang back from upgrading but this alone is enough to make me stick with 2.9.

    I think I'll have to switch back to 2.9 at this point. The way these visual settings presets work now is not good for my workflow. I just overwrote a preset again and I don't see a way to get back to how I had it. I thought the whole point of the presets in the model files was to avoid having to export presets. Now these presets are unstable unless I close the model without saving.

  • I've not upgraded to 3 yet, just in the middle of finalizing a project so waiting until after.

    But to add to the Visual Preset settings discussion, my main gripe is I like each scene to maintain it's own aspect ratio. It's a pain if I create or adjust a new 'style' preset, but then have to migrate that to all my different views, but then also adjusting the output aspect ratio on each also.

    It also makes for unnecessary duplicates of almost identical presets.


    I've love to be able to lock the aspect ratio to the view indefinitely, and apply the other parts of presets on top.

  • Have to add my +1 on this.


    Especially when working as a team, and wanting to come back later to export a view that has exact same settings, so that it can be replaced like-for-like in Photoshop (for example).

    If someone unintentionally adjusts a setting, the previous setting is lost forever...think the word 'preset' is probably not the correct one to describe the functionality of this in 3.0 LoL.


    So far, considering reverting back to 2.9 for the office, as the multitude of new pros don't outweight the new negatives...

  • Before 3.0 you can modify any settings in the preset to find something you like.

    IF you find it you can save as a new preset, if not you can load back the original preset you started with.


    Now if you pick a preset and you make some modifications they are immediately overwrite the preset, this is terrible as if you change something you don't like you cannot go back to your original preset.

    It is very annoying to duplicate a preset everytime you want to try something.


    Adjusting preset should not overwrite the original settings.

  • Yes a huge negative, especially for an office with multiple users...and most of us are relatively new to Enscape, so very easy to make a mistake of adjusting a 'preset' without realising. A real nightmare if trying to export views over days to work in within PS to photomontage. Lighting is differet, DOF is different, so near impossible to know what settings you used last time...

    • Official Post

    Thank you everyone for your thoughts - I can completely understand why this change is frustrating. I'm in the process with the support team to collect such cases in which users are not happy with this adjustment, afterward it'll be discussed if this will be reverted.

    • Official Post

    Aymeric.cu , Jeppo03 , thanks for the feedback - I have moved your posts into this existing thread so everything is collected in one spot. Just to avoid any confusion.

  • Demian Gutberlet

    Changed the title of the thread from “Automatic saving of visual settings” to “Revert automatic saving of visual settings”.
  • Thank you everyone for your thoughts - I can completely understand why this change is frustrating. I'm in the process with the support team to collect such cases in which users are not happy with this adjustment, afterward it'll be discussed if this will be reverted.

    It's quite frustrating that this change didn't even make it into any of the preview versions. IMO, this is a perfect example of something that should have been tested in beta instead of rolling out in a full new version.

    • Official Post

    It's quite frustrating that this change didn't even make it into any of the preview versions. IMO, this is a perfect example of something that should have been tested in beta instead of rolling out in a full new version.

    I agree with you that implementations which could change your workflow in such a manner should be available in preview versions prior. I'm thankful for that feedback as well, it's noted down and will be forwarded with everything else.