Revit API error

Reminder: If you encounter any issues with Enscape or your subscription please reach out to our dedicated support team through the Help Center or by using the Feedback button as detailed here.
    • Official Post

    hello Demian Gutberlet


    Sadly, the NDA for this project does not allow us to share the model with you.


    Is there another way we have investigate on what is going on?

    We really do require a scene as this particular behavior seems to be tied to the project specifically - I appreciate the reply though.


    Edelita , pardon to ping you again but perhaps there is a chance for you instead to submit a scene to us? Thanks again in advance for your consideration.

  • We really do require a scene as this particular behavior seems to be tied to the project specifically - I appreciate the reply though.


    Edelita , pardon to ping you again but perhaps there is a chance for you instead to submit a scene to us? Thanks again in advance for your consideration.

    Hi Demian,


    Let me check internally if this is possible and will come back to you.


    I have had many issues with Revit and Enscape for the last past months and it's getting to a point that is not practical any longer.

    • Official Post

    Hi Demian,


    Let me check internally if this is possible and will come back to you.


    I have had many issues with Revit and Enscape for the last past months and it's getting to a point that is not practical any longer.

    I appreciate your efforts, receiving the scene really would be ideal.


    And I'm sorry to hear that of course - Could you just kindly detail here too what other issues you experience exactly next to the API problem at hand? Then based on that we can hopefully troubleshoot these further with your cooperation.

  • I appreciate your efforts, receiving the scene really would be ideal.


    And I'm sorry to hear that of course - Could you just kindly detail here too what other issues you experience exactly next to the API problem at hand? Then based on that we can hopefully troubleshoot these further with your cooperation.

    Hi Demian, we've been trough the issues already.


    I'll let you know if I'm in a position to share the model.


    Regards,

    Edelita

    • Official Post

    I'm really sorry if I'm missing something but gathering from the previous posts the main problem discussed revolved "only" around the Revit API problem? I simply want to make sure to not overlook anything else you may run into frequently.


    In any case, once we receive a scene from you or another user with the same issue we'll look into it further right away.


    Again, your cooperation is appreciated.

  • I tried posting about this a couple of weeks ago but I guess my post was never approved by mods and was deleted (please at lest give me a reason why it's not approved). We are having this issue with multiple users on different computers and different Revit models. It can occur even while Enscape is closed if Enscape has been opened during a Revit session. It mostly occurs when loading a family into the project but I've had it occur at other times. The issue causes the escape key to stop functioning how it should in Revit (it won't cancel commands or unselect) and some commands to not work at all. Closing Revit and reopening will fix the issue until it occurs again. It doesn't seem to me to be related to any model in particular unless it's something in our template that's causing the issue. Help would be appreciated. Thanks.

    • Official Post

    I tried posting about this a couple of weeks ago but I guess my post was never approved by mods and was deleted (please at lest give me a reason why it's not approved). We are having this issue with multiple users on different computers and different Revit models. It can occur even while Enscape is closed if Enscape has been opened during a Revit session. It mostly occurs when loading a family into the project but I've had it occur at other times. The issue causes the escape key to stop functioning how it should in Revit (it won't cancel commands or unselect) and some commands to not work at all. Closing Revit and reopening will fix the issue until it occurs again. It doesn't seem to me to be related to any model in particular unless it's something in our template that's causing the issue. Help would be appreciated. Thanks.

    Thanks a lot for your post as well.


    We do of course not remove any posts here on purpose especially when they detail a specific ongoing problem we still want to resolve, so my dear apologies if your previous reply wasn't approved a while ago, in case you still have that reply you can re-share it of course too (should it include further information to what you shared here).


    Now on to the main problem as it doesn't seem to be tied to a specific project, could you still please submit a report with logs / crash dumps from one of the machines where you experience this? Detailed here. (Ideally also share the e-mail with me via a DM used to submit said report so that I can locate it right away, to assign to myself and then eventually our developers)


    Since so far we haven't been able to find out the specific cause behind this is there perhaps also still a chance to share any of the scenes with which you experience this? It's unlikely in that regard that it's caused by them specifically, but it could still be helpful in the future. (You can use wetransfer.com for example or we'll gladly provide you a safe confidential upload link)


    I'm aware that this has to be a frustrating issue of course, so really anything that may allow us to look further into this would be great.


    Thank you again in advance.

    • Official Post

    Has the issues with API error been solved?

    Thanks for your further post. I'm afraid as per my colleagues reply to the latest feedback reports of yours (submitted June 1st/2nd), this error is still a Revit-based bug that our developers are aware of and working on a fix. Unfortunately, there are no workarounds for it at this time as it seems to be triggered by editing families.


    He then continued with further inquiries regarding your projects and so forth - I'm aware that answering these questions may take a bit of your time, but it would still be great if you could keep in touch with him (James) via the e-mail response you've received June 2nd so that he can forward that information to our developers as well for further analysis and troubleshooting.


    Again, thank you in advance for your cooperation and time.

  • Hi Demian,


    Many queries were raised about these API erros, no only by me and clearly this is still to be resolved.

    We've followed every steps and procedures you and your team have recommended and including installing and uninstalling the latest versions of the software. This is an issue isolated to Enscape and not Revit


    We're not in a position to share information - if this is the only way, this will never be resolved.


    It is interesting that after 1 year of the same issue, we're still back to zero.

    • Official Post

    Thanks for your quick reply. I'm genuinely sorry and also aware that this is rather frustrating but I also have no intention of using any your time longer than I need to, so in this case allow me to just briefly ask as well if you have tried the following which we sent in an earlier feedback report:

    Quote

    Since Enscape is waiting for the Revit API according to the notification, this issue seems to originate on the Revit side of the process. The bigger error notification talks about "Result Explorer" which is also mentioned in quite the same wording in the following support article from Autodesk: https://www.autodesk.com/suppo…ling-HotFix-2022-0-1.html


    Please test the mentioned approach (updating and putting the corresponding image file in the dedicated folder they mention in the article).

    Since you are (or were at that time) using Revit 2022.1 I just wanted to briefly also inquire if this has been tried before? I am asking because I cannot see any reply to the case itself after we proposed this.


    You mentioned of course that you tried everything we've recommended, but I hope it's okay to make very sure.


    Furthermore, as per the same e-mail, if that would not help we also proposed the following:

    You also mentioned that you re-installed Enscape even multiple times, but again to ensure, have you tried these specific instructions too if the first proposed solution makes no difference?


    Once more, thanks a lot in advance for your time and any further replies.

  • Checking in: Is there any definitive news on what is causing this problem?


    It has happened to several of our employees, on various versions of Revit and Enscape, again just this morning.

    Each time we update anything possible (Revit, Enscape, graphics card drivers...) and it seems to go away for a little while.

    Latest occurrence was with:

    Windows 10

    Revit 2023.1.2

    Enscape 3.5.1

    Nvidia drivers 351.79


    We updated Enscape and Nvidia drivers to the latest, but it would be nice to know the reason for the error.

  • Is this issue going to have a solution ever? Seems like its been an ongoing issue for half a decade? I'm unable to use Enscape whenever I want to edit a revit family, which is pretty much everyday. I've disabled all other Reit addins, which had zero effect.


    Sending a Feedback report shortly.

    • Official Post

    Is this issue going to have a solution ever? Seems like its been an ongoing issue for half a decade? I'm unable to use Enscape whenever I want to edit a revit family, which is pretty much everyday. I've disabled all other Reit addins, which had zero effect.


    Sending a Feedback report shortly.

    Right away thanks a lot for also submitting a Feedback report which is generally what we reccomend doing in this regard.


    Just in case you haven't yet kindly check out the comprehensive reply you've received (Jan 17th as well) via the created Feedback report case itself (through e-mail). Once you have the time and resources to try the proposed steps in order to troubleshoot or ideally resolve this further feel free to simply reply back to my colleague, especially if you were unsuccessful and this behavior may remain the same.


    Thank you again in advance.