Changing Enscape Preset issue when multiple users work in same Revit Central File

REMINDER! If you encounter any issues with Enscape (e.g. crashes, installation problems) or your subscription please reach out to our dedicated support team directly through the Help Center or by using the Support button as detailed HERE! Thank you for your understanding.
  • Hi,


    All our Revit projects are set up as Central Files, as multiple users need to work in the same project at the same time, as I'm sure most others' on here are doing too.


    When a user starts up Enscape and wants to change the Preset to another, it often comes up with a message preventing said user from doing this. This is obviously paramount as we all know that Enscape does not allow us to lock Presets. We have created a 'Anything Goes' Preset that should allow anyone to select that Preset and change any of the settings without affecting those that we do not want to change (the ideal would be for Enscape to allow us to lock these Presets - hint hint Enscape), but again, the message stops the user from changing the Preset to 'Anything Goes'.


    The solution seems to be that all other users need to sync their model first, and once done, the Enscape user is then able to change the Preset. This is obviously a huge time waster (as each sync needs to be sequential, and can take many minutes each).


    Is this a limitation of Revit or Enscape?

    • Official Post

    Jeppo03 , thanks a lot for your report - I'm afraid this is currently a known problem product management is already aware of. This mainly occurs with BIM 360 models but we are looking into resolving this as soon as we can. There is not really any ETA available yet though which I could share.

  • Hello Jeppo03 - I wonder if this is an artifact of trying to change the properties of the same view simultaneously which control by the same works at. Please test changing the view properties whilst working on different views in Revit (which are controlled by different worksets). For example, multiple users could be working on their own default 3D view in Revit.

  • Hi Phil,


    Have already tested that - just the fact that the file is open at the same time seems to be causing the issue. As Damien notes, it's seemingly a known issue and something we (somehow) need to manage. Strange that I could not find any others' with similar issue, as surely most work in a collaborative environment.


    Makes it extremely difficult to manage that last push before a deadline, expecting multiple users to access the model, produce renders and help out. If it wasn't for the fact that there are always last minute changes required to the model during the render process, I had thought of creating separate files, just linking in the said Revit models, allowing each user to essentially have their own model to render from...but with the time it would take to constantly modify, then sync, then reload links, it may not be that time-savvy....

  • You bring up a good point. If you export your visual settings, so that other people can share them, and then link the project files into a new (not Workshared) instance of Revit you should be able to distribute workflow.

  • I'm a software Manager at a large firm and have recently had User complaints regarding multiple Enscape presets, one per view essentially, and constant syncing requests similar to what is reported above. Has this been resolved in v3.4.3 bc that's what the team is running on and reporting issues on?

  • I'm having the same issue as described by @Jeppo3. With the added nightmare that when we receive the same message he shared all our views previously set up with linked presets loose their relationships. Is anybody else having this issue too?


    We really need a fix to this glitch as resetting up the presets to each views are a huge time waste at the moment. Enscape team could we please have an update on resolving this in the near future?

  • Hi Phil,


    Have already tested that - just the fact that the file is open at the same time seems to be causing the issue. As Damien notes, it's seemingly a known issue and something we (somehow) need to manage. Strange that I could not find any others' with similar issue, as surely most work in a collaborative environment.


    Makes it extremely difficult to manage that last push before a deadline, expecting multiple users to access the model, produce renders and help out. If it wasn't for the fact that there are always last minute changes required to the model during the render process, I had thought of creating separate files, just linking in the said Revit models, allowing each user to essentially have their own model to render from...but with the time it would take to constantly modify, then sync, then reload links, it may not be that time-savvy....

    I can assure you several people have this issue, especially with my experience at a large firm with large projects (20+ people in a BIM 360 model). The issue we have is if multiple people are rendering in the same BIM 360 Revit model using Enscape, only one person can freely change the preset they're using. Anyone else who might not want to use the preset that was automatically loaded when they started Enscape (which most of the time is not the last preset they used, but the preset that the person who last used Enscape / is using Enscape used / is using), needs to have that person sync.


    Multiple users should be able to render and freely change presets without needing other people to sync. It would be great if people could be stopped from changing preset settings, this is an instance where people should get that pop-up asking people to sync, because someone else currently using that preset should be "owning" that preset.


    We've tried assigning one preset per Revit view, that doesn't work. Also, toggling Revit views as favorites in Enscape always resets. It'd be great if users favorites in Enscape could remain "favorited", they always disappear after a few hours. Also, we have an issue where preset settings and time of day are attached to certain views in Enscape, but then those settings are detached/deleted from that view in Enscape.


    Any update on any of this would be great, thanks!

  • Hi Phil Read  Demian Gutberlet , curious if there's any update to these issues being resolved in Enscape? Thanks!